TIMBERLAND REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING Labor and Industries Building, 7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater, WA

July 16, 2002

MINUTES

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Art Blauvelt, President, Edna Fund, Peggy Meyer, Pat Shults, Gene Weaver, and Janelle Williams

BOARD MEMBER EXCUSED: Ken Bragg

President Blauvelt called the special meeting to order at 6:05 p.m.

Board and staff introductions were made.

Mr. Blauvelt referred to the handouts, including Guidelines for Participation, Internet Access Fact Sheet. and Legal Boundaries on Internet Policy-Making (attached to the original of these minutes). An Internet Access Policy Comment Sheet was also provided for those who do not wish to speak. The current Library Card Applications were also available. Mr. Blauvelt reviewed the guidelines and stated the purpose of this meeting is to hear from the public. The Board is also receiving comments through a special email account and voice mailbox set up for this purpose, and by faxes and letters. He requested that any written comments be submitted by August 21. Another opportunity for public comments will be on July 24, at 7:00 p.m., at Centralia College's Corbet Theater.

Ms. Kruse addressed TRL's current Internet access policy. She reviewed TRL's Mission Statement, service area, statistics on Internet use at TRL in 2001, the current Internet Policy, the Internet Access Action Plan adopted by the TRL Board in July 2000, and the actions taken in response to that plan. She spoke of TRL's commitment to providing access to Internet, helping people use the Internet, balancing First Amendment rights and safeguarding patron's legal rights, taking immediate action to prevent illegal use of Internet, providing parents the means to determine access for their own children, and teaching children and young adults about safe use of Internet.

Thirty-five people from the audience spoke. A copy of the Speaker Sign In Sheet is attached to the original of these minutes.

There was no further business and the meeting adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

President at 7:55 p.m.

Culture

Secretary